Meet the Academy Council



Welcome from our Chair

Academy Council

The governing body at St Mary Redcliffe CE Primary School is called the Academy Council.  

The Academy Council reports directly to a Multi Academy Trust, which is called the Diocese of Bristol Academies Trust (DBAT). DBAT is a sub committee of the main sponsor of the school, the Diocese of Bristol Academy Company (DoBAC).

The Academy Council work in partnership with the Heads of School ensuring every child has the opportunity to achieve their potential by delivering a good quality education.

The Academy Council are responsible for the strategic management of the school that include:

  • Working with the Heads of School to determine the overall direction of the school
  • Form a policy on the school's curriculum
  • Oversee the school's budget
  • Appoint and monitor staffing and performance
  • Monitor the performance of the school, including target setting and standards
  • Making sure school buildings are welcoming and safe
  • Advising, setting and monitoring the school policies and procedures

Academy Council Structure 

The Academy Council (AC) consists of all board members and meets once every term, or 6 times a year. Members also visit the school regularly to meet with the staff and monitor the learning environment. The members have individual roles and responsibilities including statutory areas such as health and safety and safeguarding, and subject areas such as English, Maths and Science.

The Academy Council currently organises itself around focus areas of the School Development Plan (SDP), delegating review of each area to a board member.  The assignments of these 'link' roles are as follows.

  • Safeguarding (Neil Carpenter, Chris Williams & Nick Jones) - Ant Couzens
  • Special Educational Needs (Liz Radnor & Meg Stacey) - Tim Brown & Alison Hicks
  • Maths (Victoria Price & Thomas Germain) - Megan McMahon
  • Phonics & EYFS (Sarah Birch) - Kaye Cousins
  • Pupil Premium (Meg Stacey) - Alison Hicks
  • Health & Safety, Estates and Facilities (Emma Tilley & Ryan Palmer) - Ant Couzens
  • Finance (Sharon Bembridge)  - Megan McMahon
  • Trust - Graham Briscoe
  • Collective Worship & SIAMS (Susan Lavelle & Nick Jones) - Laura Verrall-Kelly
  • Staff & Wellbeing - Victoria Price 
  • Quality First Teaching (Liz Radnor) - Tim Brown


Our Academy Council members

Anthony Couzens (Chair) - Parent Member
Tim Brown (Vice Chair) - Community Member
Laura Verrall-Kelly - Foundation Member
Neil Carpenter - Head of School
Meg Stacey - Assistant Head of School 
Alison Hicks - Community Member 
Kaye Cousins - Parent Member
Vickie Price - Staff Member
Graham Briscoe - Trustee
Mark Freeman - Lead for Bristol Education and Learning Hubs - no voting rights
Louisa Aldred -  Governance Professional to the Academy Council 

Chair of Academy Council - Anthony Couzens

To contact, please email:



Contact Us

Happy to answer any questions

If you require paper copies of any information from the website please contact the school office. 


  • Windmill Close Windmill Hill Bristol BS3 4DP

Telephone Number